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2013 GOHS CAPP Program 
Governors Office of Highway Safety 
Children Are Priceless Passengers 

 
 
The GOHS CAPP Program was developed for the purpose of improving the child seat usage rate in Arizona by the following 
methods: 

 
Increasing enforcement of child restraint laws by law enforcement agencies. 
Increasing education of drivers about the importance of child safety seats. 
Raising public awareness about the effectiveness of child safety seats. 

 
The CAPP Program was modeled from an existing program initiated in Tempe in 1994 which partners law enforcement 
agencies, hospitals, and municipal/justice courts. The Governor’s Office of Highway Safety has partnered with several 
agencies/hospitals throughout the state.  
 
The program provides child safety classes in both English and Spanish instructed by nationally certified technicians. Program 
information will be provided by law enforcement agencies to drivers when issued a citation for ARS 28-907.A (child restraint 
law). Program information will also be provided to each law enforcement agency as well as all of the Municipal and Justice 
Courts throughout the State of Arizona. 
  
The class allows drivers cited for a violation of ARS 28-907.A (child restraint law) to attend an educational class with the 
opportunity to obtain a child safety seat. Proper installation of the child safety seats will be increased based upon the information 
provided and hands-on demonstrations. This class provides drivers with an additional option other than purchasing an 
expensive child safety seat and/or paying a fine which, in some jurisdictions, is in excess of $100. 
  
The two-hour class concludes with the students installing their child safety seats into their vehicles, which are then checked by 
the technicians. 
  
The class offers a new child safety seat (convertible/booster) to the students who are in need. Students having a seat which is 
used, recalled, outdated, or was involved in a collision will be offered a new seat to replace the existing one. Fee for the class 
has been established at $35. Monies collected from the class will be placed in a fund established at each location for the sole 
purpose of purchasing future child safety seats. 
  
Drivers who own child safety seats but fail to use them in their vehicle will be offered the class. Drivers will bring their child 
safety seats to the class where they will be checked for recall information and inspected by the technician. The students who 
attend the two-hour class benefit greatly from the information provided. The class is additionally offered to the general public and 
will be promoted through various avenues. 
 
For statewide CAPP class locations and schedules please contact:  
Arizona Governors Office of Highway Safety  
602-255-3209  
http://www.azgohs.gov/highway-safety-programs/default.asp?ID=23 
 

 
2013 Class dates for Williams 

 
CAPP Classes are held monthly at the Williams Police Department   4:00pm -6:00 pm 

Registration is required - call 928-635-4461 to register 
 

 January 8 February 12 March 12 April 9  May 14  June 11 
 July 9  August 13 September 10 October 8 November 12 December 10  
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