RESULTS OF THE ARIZONA GOVERNOR'S OFFICE OF HIGHWAY SAFETY
2001-2011 SEAT BELT USAGE SURVEY
ALL DRIVERS SEAT BELT USE
FRONT SEAT OCCUPANTS SEAT BELT USE
CHILDREN SAFETY RESTRAINT USE
MOTOCYCLES HELMET USE
CELL PHONE USE***
*POST "CLICK IT OR TICKET" SURVEY- SOURCE: CSI SANTA RITA RESEARCH CENTER
**POST "CLICK IT OR TICKET" SURVERY- SOURCE: BEHAVIORAL RESEARCH CENTER
*** 2007 SURVEY IS THE FIRST YEAR THAT INCLUDED CELL PHONE USE
Arizona Seatbelt Usage (1994-2012)
ARS Title 28-909 (A)
Each front seat occupant must have the lap and shoulder belt properly adjusted and fastened while the vehicle is in motion. If only a lap belt is installed, the lap belt must be properly adjusted, and fastened while the vehicle is in motion.
ARS Title 28-909 (B)
A citation will be issued to the driver for each passenger under 16 years of age that is occupying the front seat and is not wearing a seat belt.
ARS Title 28-909 (C)
A peace officer shall not stop or issue a citation to a person operating a motor vehicle on a highway in this state for a violation of this section unless the peace officer has reasonable cause to believe there is another alleged violation of a motor vehicle law of this state.
ARS Title 28-909 (F)
Exemptions: persons with physical or medical disability waivers, mail carriers, and children under 5 years of age (child restraint required).
Child Restraint Safety Checklist:
When traveling with a young child, you need to understand all the facets of child restraints.
- At what age is a child restraint no longer necessary?
- Is there still a weight restriction for child restraints?
- How should I position my child restraint in the vehicle?
Correcting mistakes made when installing child safety seats could save a life. The most common mistakes are:
- Never place rear facing infants in front seat with passenger-side air bags.
- Infant (under one year AND 20 pounds) should always face the rear of the vehicle.
- Child safety seat needs to be anchored in vehicle by a safety belt.
- Child must be buckled in a child safety seat.
- Child safety seat harness straps in slot at or below infant’s shoulder (rear facing) and at or above toddler’s shoulder (forward facing).
- Harness straps need to be snug – no more than one adult finger should fit under harness.
- Harness retainer clip must be at armpit level to hold harness strap properly over shoulders.
- Vehicle safety belt must hold child safety seat tightly and be threaded through correct belt path of child safety seat.
- Check child safety seat for correct size/type for child’s weight and age.
Child Restraint Laws for Arizona
Having our young children properly restrained in our vehicles is not an option, in Arizona it is required by law !
ARS 28-907 (A) and (B)
The driver will be cited if they fail to properly secure a child under 5 years of age in a child restraint device that meets federal standards.
NOTE: No weight limitation as of October 1, 1997
GOHS AZ Booster Seat Law Flier
AZ Booster Seat Law Bilingual Flier
ARS 28-907 (C)
Driver is subject to a civil penalty of $50 plus court imposed surcharges, unless a person makes a sufficient showing that the motor vehicle has been subsequently equipped with a child restraint device.
ARS 28-907 (G)
Exemptions: Motor vehicles originally manufactured without seat belts (prior to 1972), recreational vehicles, public transportation, buses, school bus, transporting a child in an emergency to obtain medical care, or the interior design of vehicle makes use impractical for multiple child restraint devices.
Infant Seats (Birth to 20 Pounds - birth to age one):
Infants should be in a reclined infant car seat or convertible seat in the infant position to protect the delicate neck and head. All straps should be pulled snugly. The car seat must face the rear of the car and should never be used in a front seat where there is an air bag. The infant must face the rear so that in the event of a crash, swerve, or sudden stop, the infant’s back and shoulders can better absorb the impact. Household infant carriers and cloth carriers are not designed to protect an infant in a car and should never be used.
Please never place any toys or mirrors around or near the child's face. During a crash these objects become flying projectiles and will injure your child.
Convertible Seats (5 to 40 Pounds)
The convertible car seat is placed in a reclined rear-facing position until an infant is 1 year and 20 pounds. After children reach at least 1 year and 20 pounds, the convertible seat can be turned forward and placed in the upright position in the back seat of the vehicle.
Fasten the convertible car seat with a vehicle seat belt, properly inserting the belt through the car seat frame according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Read the vehicle owner’s manual for specific instructions. A locking clip is needed when using a vehicle lap/shoulder belt with a latch plate that moves freely along the belt.
Booster Seats (40 to 80 Pounds)
When a child outgrows the convertible car seat or weighs about 40 pounds, either a belt positioning (backless) or high-back booster seat can be used with a lap/shoulder belt in the back seat of the vehicle. For those vehicles that do not have lap/shoulder belts, the options are limited:
- Retrofit the vehicle with shoulder belts,
- Use a harness or vest system,
- Purchase a new booster seat with harnesses that secure to the vehicle seat with the lap belt.
Car Seat Fitting Stations (Pima County) Link coming soon
Car Seat Fitting Info for Pinal County:
Regional Fire & Rescue Department, Inc.
Fire Station #586
7951 W. McCartney Road
Casa Grande, Arizona 85194-7417
P: (520) 723-4680
Inspections take place Monday - Saturday. Call for an appointment.
Feel free to contact GOHS for current product information.
Buckle Up Baby Campaign
If you observe a child under the age of 8 not properly restrained while riding in a motor vehicle, you can do something about it. Call the "Buckle Up, Baby" hotline number 1-800-505-BABY, a GOHS program supported by the Phoenix Police Department.
How the program works: Persons may call the 1-800 number and leave the following information:
- Vehicle license number and state.
- City observed in.
- Where the child was sitting in the vehicle.
A packet of useful information is mailed to the registered owner stating that their vehicle was observed transporting an unrestrained child. The material describes the hazards of transporting unrestrained children under the age of 8, and encourages the owner to purchase a child restraint system. This information is not provided to any law enforcement agencies, insurance companies, or the Arizona Motor Vehicles Division. The purpose of this program is to provide information to those who might need it most.